The Robert Holland Faculty Senate at Mississippi State University functions as a channel of communications between the faculty and the President. The Faculty Senate advises the President on matters referred to it. Members of the faculty are always welcome, though they may speak in the meeting only by a vote of the Senate. Senators are elected by their colleagues to serve a three year term.

MSU Faculty Achievement Selection Process - Part of the SEC Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award

The Southeastern Conference (SEC) Council of Presidents has established a program to honor faculty with outstanding records of teaching and scholarship who serve as role models for junior faculty and students. This SEC Faculty Awards Program identifies one faculty member per university. Our Faculty Achievement Award winner will represent MSU in a conference-wide program that will recognize one Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award for the SEC. The university level recognition will be accompanied with a $5,000 award. The conference Distinguished Faculty Achievement award recipient will receive a total award of $20,000.

The President and Provost have asked the Faculty Senate to assist in establishing a selection process for this award. The initial nomination process will begin with peer-nominations. To nominate a colleague for this award, submit a nomination letter and the faculty nominee's current CV to the Faculty Senate Office by Thursday, October 31, 2013. Nominations can be sent via e-mail to facultysenate@msstate.edu or campus mail to Robert Holland Faculty Senate, Mailstop 9728, Williams Building.

All peer-nomination letters and CVs will be forwarded to a committee of Giles Distinguished Professors who will identify nominees for further consideration. They will invite nominees to submit a two page description of his/her work that highlights important accomplishments and professional impacts. From the remaining pool, the Committee of Giles Distinguished Professors will select three finalists. The Provost, along with the Robert Holland Faculty Senate President and Vice President will make the final selection.

The MSU Faculty Achievement Award recipient will be announced in January 2013. The recipient will complete the application process for the SEC Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award in sufficient time for the university to submit the nomination packet to the SEC Office by February 28th. The SEC Faculty Awards Program description is available on the Senate website (www.facultysenate.msstate.edu).

Because the MSU's Faculty Achievement Award recipient will represent the university in the conference-wide awards program, our recipient must fulfill the eligibility requirements of the SEC award. Thus our eligibility is limited to full professors who have an extraordinary record of teaching and scholarship and a national and/or international record of scholarhip. Further for the MSU award, department heads, administrators, and other faculty with significant administrative responsibility are not eligible.

Southeastern Conference Faculty Achievement Awards Program

The 2013 Confidence Survey is now available. Click here to view results

My Media - View Live Broadcast

Robert Holland Faculty Senate
Mail Stop 9728
Suite B, Williams Building
100 Walker Road
Phone: 662-325-8700
Fax: 662-325-7558

PO Box 5424
Mississippi State University, MS 39762