Mississippi State University SEC Faculty Achievement Award Nomination Process

The Robert Holland Faculty Senate invites nominations for the Southeastern Conference Faculty Achievement Award. In October 2010, the Southeastern Conference Presidents and Chancellors established a program to recognize extraordinary accomplishments of faculty at SEC universities. The SEC Faculty Achievement Awards honor those with outstanding records in both teaching and scholarship who serve as role models for junior faculty and students.

Nominations are due to the Faculty Senate Office by 5:00 pm on Tuesday, November 21st. To be considered for the award, a faculty member must:

- 1. Be a teacher / scholar at Mississippi State University.
- 2. Have achieved the rank of full professor.
- 3. Have a record of extraordinary teaching, particularly at the undergraduate level.
- 4. Have an outstanding record of scholarship that is recognized nationally and/or internationally.

Individuals who have previously received this recognition are not eligible. The nomination should include a curriculum vitae (limited to 5 pages), a letter of recommendation from the nominator highlighting the impact that the faculty member's teaching/research/service has had at Mississippi State as well as the national or international recognition for scholarly contributions or discoveries (limited to 2 pages, single spaced), and an impact statement from the nominee which addresses the following areas, in the order indicated (limited to a maximum of three-pages, single spaced):

- 1. Area(s) of expertise
- 2. Significance of work in the field
- 3. Teaching, particularly of undergraduate
- 4. Mentoring graduate students and other faculty
- 5. Service and Engagement
- 6. Professional Recognitions, awards and honors
- 7. Other (e.g., community engagement, relevant personal accomplishments, etc.)

Nomination packets should be submitted electronically by the deadline to Dinah Jenkins in the Faculty Senate office at facultysenate@msstate.edu.

The SEC Faculty Achievement Award winner for Mississippi State University will receive \$5,000 for his or her selection as the MSU SEC Faculty Achievement Award winner and will be MSU's nomination for the SEC Professor of the Year award. The SEC Provosts comprise the selection committee charged with choosing the SEC Professor of the Year from among the 14 Southeastern Conference member institutions. The overall SEC Professor of the Year award winner will receive an additional \$15,000.

Previous recipients of the Mississippi State University SEC Faculty Achievement Award

2023-Dr. Qian (Jenny) Du
2017-Dr. Janice E. Chambers
2022-Dr. Steve Demarais
2016-Dr. T. Brent Funderburk
2021-Dr. Dipangkar Dutta
2015-Dr. Mark F. Horstemeyer
2020-Dr. Renee Clary
2014-Dr. Hossein Toghiani
2019-Dr. Raja Reddy
2013-Dr. James C. Newman, Jr.
2018-Dr. Jim Fowler

For specific questions, please feel free to email or call Dinah Jenkins, at facultysenate@msstate.edu, (662) 325-8700 or myself at bank@math.msstate.edu).

Robert Banik President, Robert Holland Faculty Senate